Best Shot: Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind

Eternal Sunshine 1

I’m trying to participate in activities which will inspire me to write more in the hopes that it will revive my brain from its five-year slumber. The Film Experience has begun its 2014 season of ‘Hit Me With Your Best Shot‘ and I’ve decided to participate, if only for the first one, as it focuses on one of my all time favourite films: Michel Gondry’s ETERNAL SUNSHINE OF THE SPOTLESS MIND.

I saw this film in the cinema, loved  it, then purchased it second-hand on DVD from my local video store because I couldn’t find it in the shops. That’s the copy I still own and watch every once in a while.

One shot I really like is when Joel is re-living his book store encounter with Clementine. In one shot he walks through the book store as the lights switch off, walks through a door and sits on the stairs in Carrie’s apartment. I couldn’t really get a screenshot that would do justice to the actual thing, though.

Eternal Sunshine 3

I loved this shot of young Joel and Clementine playing as Joel’s childhood home and, subsequently his memory are demolished, and I love Joel and Clem having a bath in the kitchen sink. The latter is very cute, whilst the former always makes me wonder whether the memories Joel sneaks Clementine into are also zapped, or just the new versions of the memories that include Clementine. Also, does Clementine replace another girl from his past or is she added to Joel’s solo memories (such as when he was caught by his mother)?

Eternal Sunshine 5

The image that my mind immediately brings up when I think of the film, however, is when Joel opens his eyes and realises that he and Clementine are in bed on the snowy beach. I don’t know why, but my mind seems to associate Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind with a snowy beach, something I would love to witness for myself one day.

Eternal Sunshine 1

Incidentally, I just watched the film’s trailer and I am glad I didn’t watch it before seeing the film for the first time.

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 540 other followers

